Materials for crochet jute and willow rod garden screen

Crocheting a willow garden screen for my back yard

To grow even more things in my very small back yard I am now looking at vertical gardening to expand my growing space. I have seen some interesting versions of planting in vertical space but I’ve decided to go for my own personal twist on this concept.

One of the first problems I needed to solve is that I want to be able to take advantage of some vertical space that at present is completely open, above a small brick wall and a low-level gate. I’m not looking to create a permanent feature as I want to see how using this vertical space will impact on light levels for other plants I have growing in the yard.

Willow cuttings behind the wall
The willow cuttings standing behind the wall where I intend to stand the narrow trough
I am keen to keep the screen structure quite natural-looking and not overly dense to allow light through as well as incorporating natural materials. At present I am designing two jute and willow screens which combine crochet and some simple willow weaving.

My idea is to attach one screen to extend above the current height of the gate using hand-hewn wooden slats. The other screen will be taller, at approximately 1.8 metres, and will be planted into a narrow slatted wooden trough (also yet to be constructed!) that will extend along behind the low brick wall. The initial idea is not for the willow rods to actually root in the trough though it is possible this may happen if the rods are still green when I set up the screen. (I already have a few pots of willow growing from cuttings I took a couple of months ago.)

… and what will I grow here? I’d pondered on beans or peas but, as this is a roadside and the plants will mainly be growing on the outside of my yard, I’m not keen on that idea. I’ve decided to try for a good showing of sweet peas. I love these flowers, especially the old fashioned scented ones.

Crocheting the willow rods together
Crocheting the willow rods together

So far I have begun to crochet the willow rods together and I really like the way it looks … I will report back as I make further progress 🙂

J Peggy Taylor

7 thoughts on “Crocheting a willow garden screen for my back yard

    1. Thank you San 🙂 It was an idea that came to me right out of a practical need … for more growing space 🙂 I am now making ‘plant pots’ for my Sweet Peas from recycled milk cartons!

  1. What a great idea, and I love reading your thought process as you list the criteria your new invention has to meet. Looking forward to seeing how this develops – and I LOVE sweet peas:-) Creative blessings, H xxxxx

    1. Thank you Harula 🙂 Ha! actually, sharing the creative process is something else I learned about from others too – I’m definitely an “idea womble” 🙂 … I feel another post coming on there 😉 I promise to post my progress on this project … haha! now there’s some sweet ‘peas’!!

Your thoughts and views?

