Bluebells are blooming in the woods

Will You Walk this May?

Here in the UK the season of Spring comes into full bloom in the month of May. For me, May is THE month to get out for a healthy and enjoyable walk in the countryside.

We love walking in our local beechwoods in Springtime when the new leaves are just bursting from their tightly rolled buds
We love walking in our local beechwoods in Springtime when the new leaves are just bursting from their tightly rolled buds

I do most of my local walking in woodland where I find there is so much to see in Springtime. In some of my recent posts I’ve been sharing my Spring walks and the delights that are out there waiting for us. If you want to find out more about woodland walks you may find the Woodland Trust’s ‘Visiting Woods’ pages useful.

Living Streets - National Walking Month May 2014
I agree, walking really can make you feel better πŸ™‚

The month of May also happens to be National Walking Month here in the UK. The Living Streets charity is one of several organisations involved in promoting events during this month, including Walk to Work Week (12-16 May) and Walk to School Week (19-23 May). You can find out more from their website http://www.livingstreets.org.uk/national-walking-month?

Why not walk this May? It’s an excellent and FREE way to enjoy the out-of doors and it’s good for the body, mind and soul πŸ™‚

J Peggy Taylor

4 thoughts on “Will You Walk this May?

  1. Very nice post Peggy, I love this post πŸ™‚ I love walking too πŸ™‚ I was born and brought up in a small village in Karnataka (India) where we all used to walk to our school πŸ™‚ Walking is very common and enjoyable in villages right? But, here in Pune, we need to go to public parks to walk… Hmm, life changes!

    Best Wishes,
    Sindhu

    1. Thank you Sindhu πŸ™‚ We live in the countryside, though not too far from the city of Newcastle. and there are so many places nearby where we can walk. When we have lived in towns we too walked in the public parks. I love walking because I can take my time to see everything and enjoy all of the trees, wild flowers, butterflies and other beauties of nature that we have here πŸ™‚

Your thoughts and views?

