Bluebells in woodland

The colour Blue for Cee’s Fun Foto Challenge

I decided to look for the colour blue in different seasons for Cee’s Fun Foto Challenge this week.

For my header image I chose glorious wild English Bluebells, blooming in our beechwoods in May. For me, blooming Bluebells are the sign that Spring has really sprung.

Thinking about the colour blue made me ponder on the way the light changes at different times of year. I always notice this when I’m photographing locations that I visit often. I find the blue of the sky varies with the season and the prevailing weather conditions.

Blue sky and blue sea
Blue sky and blue sea

The sky in this image is for me the classic deep blue of an English Summer’s day – definitely a day to be down by the deep blue sea.

Blue sky and a blue hat
Blue sky and a blue hat

Our blue skies in Winter are often a much paler blue than in Summer, especially when it is snowy too. A warm blue wooly hat was definitely the headgear for this chilly walk in the woods.

A heavy November snow fall
A heavy snowfall in November coloured the late afternoon with a snowy blue-grey gloom

This is a strangely atmospheric shot I have shared before. The sky was covered in heavy snow clouds and it had snowed heavily all afternoon. The result by 5.30pm was this incredible blue-grey light. We were fascinated by it as we had never seen the like before. It was as if another world had descended out of the sky – I guess, in a way, it had!

Do take a look at what others have chosen for Cee’s Fun Foto Challenge this week on the theme of the colour blue.

J Peggy Taylor

27 thoughts on “The colour Blue for Cee’s Fun Foto Challenge

    1. I am glad you like that picture. It really was a winter wonderland! They are some of the super-sized snowflakes that were falling! … the light catching them is from the accidental flash from my camera 😉

  1. Splendid captures Peggy! Blue bell are very lovely… Great observation of the sky! Even I like to watch sky. The snow cloud is what I don’t get to see in my place, south India… Glad you shared it 🙂

    TC! Keep smiling 🙂

    1. Thank you Sindhu 🙂 I love bluebells – the colour and the smell – they are one of my favourite flowers! The sky is fascinating isn’t it? I love all the clouds and colours we see here in our valley. I am glad you enjoyed the snow images 🙂

Your thoughts and views?

