Greater Stitchwort's starry flowers

When I grow up, I’m going to be a …

As we were taking one of our regular woodland walks this weekend, we couldn’t help but see that the woodland floor is now growing abundantly with wildflowers. There are carpets of Greater Stitchwort – that’s the white flowers in my header image. I think it lives up to its Latin name: Stellaria holostea. The bright white flowers really are like myriads of little stars.

I found myself noticing not only the plants that were actually flowering, but also those that were still pouring all of their energies into growing and had yet to flower. I decided to photograph some of the yet-to-flower plants I spotted and make it into a fun quiz. Here are my woodland wildflowers.

Can you identify the wild flowers I spotted?

A fun quiz – featuring some common flowering plants you might see in UK woodlands just at the moment.

Mystery wildflower No. 1

When I grow up I'm going to be a ...?
When I grow up I’m going to be a …?
Can you name the plant?

No.1 is a spiky character, tall and lanky. The purplish tinges to the stems and leaves might help you to imagine it in flower.

Mystery wildflower No. 2

When I grow up I'm going to be a ...?
When I grow up I’m going to be a …?
Can you name the plant?

No.2 with its oval fleshy leaves. Its immediate environment might tell you where this plant likes to live and that’s a bit of a clue to its name too.

Mystery wildflower No. 3

When I grow up I'm going to be a ...?
When I grow up I’m going to be a …?
Can you name the plant?

No.3 is a very common plant of waysides and scrubland, not just in woodlands. It’s another tall-growing robust plant that’s very popular with insects, though I’m not sure about pigs!

Mystery wildflower No. 4

When I grow up I'm going to be a ...?
When I grow up I’m going to be a …?
Can you name the plant?

No.4 is one of the archetypal woodland flowers of early Summer for me, though its bright flowers are very delicate.

Mystery wildflower No. 5

When I grow up I'm going to be a ...?
When I grow up I’m going to be a …?
Can you name the plant?

No.5 is a nice easy one. Just look at those fat and fluffy flower buds ready to burst open!

Mystery wildflower No. 6

When I grow up I'm going to be a ...?
When I grow up I’m going to be a …?
Can you name the plant?

No.6 is one of favourite flowers of late Spring and early Summer. I love its clean and sunny nature.

… and finally – a mystery seedling

When I grow up I'm going to be a ...?
When I grow up I’m going to be a …?
Can you name the plant?

My children have always noticed these little seedling plants on the woodland floor. Those enormous seed leaves always look to me like an umbrella. Its fully grown parent makes a rather good umbrella when we’ve been caught out by a sudden Summer rain storm too.

How many of my mystery plants can you name? Please leave your answers in a comment on this post. I think all of the plants I’ve chosen have featured in previous posts on my blog … complete with their flowers. I’ll post up photos of the plants with their flowers and name them all next Monday. Hopefully I’ll be able to find the Summer rain storm ‘umbrella’ to show you too πŸ™‚

Have fun with the quiz!

J Peggy Taylor

12 thoughts on “When I grow up, I’m going to be a …

  1. Trying to resist the urge to google or look at a book and just guess …

    1. Thistle
    2. Marsh Marigold?
    3. Cow Parsley
    4. Wood Avens springs to mind though I have no idea why!
    5. Red Clover
    6. Pass
    7. Pass

    Hmm not very good :-/

    1. Thank you for trying your hand (or should that be eyes!) at my plant quiz, Suzy – and another good entry it is too! I did wonder if you might have some of the mystery plant seedlings in your garden as I might be right thinking you have its parent. I will be posting up the ‘answer’ images on Monday πŸ™‚

  2. yes I can see it is a thistle now but first up it looked like the reddy purple mizuna I have growing in the garden – no 2 reminded me of soapwort and 3 of angelica but coming from across the seas I am probably way off the mark all round . well I did get the clover – that at least pops up all over the place here..

    1. Thank you for joining in my fun quiz. I can see the similarity in the leaves with a mizuna, but I wouldn’t fancy too many of these in my garden πŸ˜‰
      I agree too that No 2 has a bit of a look of soapwort ( I grow that in my yard) but this plant’s flowers are much less showy. And you are also in the right plant family with angelica too … so very well observed, despite being across the seas!

  3. You had us both scratching our heads and revealing our ignorance this morning Peggy. This is the best we can do: 1. Some kind of thistle. 4. A yellow flowered relative of the saxifrage. 5. Clover. Mystery – a bog arum?

Your thoughts and views?

