Mushroom close-up

Zooming out for the bigger picture

“What’s This?” was the question Cee gave us to ponder for last week’s Fun Foto Challenge. We then had a lot of fun trying to work out what other people had posted.

For my entry, I zoomed in on some natural subjects, focusing on shapes and details. This week, I promised to post the original images so you can see the whole zoomed out picture. Here they are …

1. Woodland waterfall

Miniature waterfall on a woodland stream
Miniature waterfall on a woodland stream

This is one of the many small streams (or ‘burns’ as well call them here in The North πŸ˜‰ ) that flows into the River Derwent in our local woods. I love this miniature waterfall as it cuts its way through the bedrock and pours down onto the next level below, surrounded by woodland greenery. I often find myself reaching for my camera when I see it. For the challenge, I picked out the water splash detail.

2. Hellebores in April snow in a plant pot

Hellebores in April snow in a plant pot
Hellebores in April snow in a plant pot

This is one of the two pots of the “Washfield Doubles” Hellebores I have on the steps by my back door. In this photo from April 2012, it looks like I was focusing on the quantity of late snow, rather than the plant itself! For the challenge, I chose the detail of the concentric curves of the terracotta pot, its black plastic liner and the topping of clean white snow.

3. Worm’s eye view of a woodland mushroom

Worm's eye view of a large woodland mushroom
Worm’s eye view of a large woodland mushroom

As I am not in the habit of crawling on my belly in beechwoods, you will notice this photo was taken by my son! I am always drawn to the unusual angles of this set of mushroom shots so I thought it would be perfect for the “What’s this?” challenge.

I enjoyed Cee’s photo challenge. I hope you enjoy my zoomed-out photos!

J Peggy Taylor

6 thoughts on “Zooming out for the bigger picture

    1. The waterfalls there are really beautiful. HA! boys! they love to crawl in the mud … photography is a good excuse to do that πŸ˜€ … but I must say, I agree, he does get some good shots πŸ˜€

  1. I was looking forward to seeing the zoomed out versions – and love these πŸ™‚ That little waterfall is magical – I just love all the dramatic contrasts in light and colors in that shot, almost as if I could imagine a unicorn drinking there… Your son’s quite the photographer! I love the angle he managed to get on that mushroom. Thanks for sharing πŸ™‚ H xxx

    1. I’m so glad you enjoyed our ‘zooms’, Harula πŸ™‚ That really is a magical little place with a whole series of waterfalls and their pools, just off the main river. I’ve never seen a unicorn, but I bet the resident roe deer drop by from time to time πŸ˜‰ Thank you – I will pass on your kind comments to my resident photographer πŸ™‚ Peggy

Your thoughts and views?

